Support Us
National Collegiate Gymnastics Association

UW-Oshkosh Claims 2022 NCGA National Championship

March 27, 2022 – Ithaca College hosted the 2022 NCGA National Championships on March 26, 2022. Congratulations to University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh who captured the title scoring a 194.100, followed by Brockport with a 192.600, and University of Wisconsin-La Crosse with a 192.575. Rounding out the top six were Ithaca College in fourth 192.325, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in fifth 191.975, and Springfield College placing sixth with 186.700.

In the all-around, Whitewater’s Emily North was the champion scoring 38.600. Taking the silver medal was Rhode Island College’s Olivia Keyes with 38.425 and the bronze went to Skye Cohen of Ithaca with 37.900.

In the individual events, Winona State’s Kennedy O’Connor and UW-Stout’s Mikala Bugge tied as the vault champion with a score of 9.80.

There was a four-way tie for first place on bars with a score of 9.80 between Brockport’s Taylor Bushey, Springfield’s Winter Osborne, UW-La Crosse’s Kerrie Legault, and UW-Oshkosh Emily Buffington!

On Beam, UW-Whitewater’s Sarah Knetzke took top honors with a score of 9.875.

Brockport’s Kyra Figurelli captured the floor title with the highest score of the day, 9.90.

Here is a list of awards earned this season:

East Regional Awards 
East Gymnast of the YearAlexis Castellaneta of Brockport
East Rookie of the YearOlivia Keyes of Rhode Island College
East Coach of the YearMonica Mesalles Nassi of Rhode Island College
East Assistant Coach of the Year Emily Graber of Ithaca & Emily Bellin from Springfield 
East Administrator of the YearErienne Roberts of Ithaca
West WIAC Regional Awards
WIAC Gymnast of the Year Emily Buffington of UW-Oshkosh
WIAC Newcomer of the Year Rachel Chesley of UW La Crosse
WIAC Coach of the Year Lauren Karnitz of UW-Oshkosh
WIAC Assistant Coach of the YearRobyn Magee of UW-La Crosse
WIAC Administrator of the YearAbby Gildernick of UW-Oshkosh
National AwardsNCGA Outstanding Senior of YearAlexis Castellaneta of Brockport
NCGA National Coach of the YearMonica Mesalles Nassi of Rhode Island College

The top 8 on each event and in the all-around (including ties) from the NCGA National Championship earned All America status. They include:


Kennedy O’Connor Winona State

Mikala Bugge UW-Stout

Alex Wood UW-La Crosse

Kara Welsh UW-Whitewater

Trinity Sawyer UW-Oshkosh

Sydney Schumaker Brockport

Rachel Lewellen UW-Whitewater

Rachel Chesley UW-La Crosse

Emily Gilot UW-Oshkosh


Taylor Bushey Brockport

Winter Osborne Springfield

Kerrie Legault UW-La Crosse 

Emily Buffington UW-Oshkosh

Rahdea Jarvis UW-Oshkosh

Kelsey Kollhoff UW-Whitewater

Rianna Adams Cortland

Sophia Redding Gustavus Adolphus


Sarah Knetzke UW-Whitewater

Natalie Galioto Brockport

Kelsey Kollhoff UW-Whitewater

Olivia Keyes Rhode Island College

Effie Ferguson UW-Stout

Jillian Freyman Ithaca College

Amelia Bailey Ithaca College

Alexis Castellaneta Brockport

Olivia Opheim UW-La Crosse

Oliva Keller UW-Oshkosh

Lauren Goble UW-Whitewater


Kyra Figurelli Brockport

Kelsey Gates Rhode Island College

Emmie White Brockport

Kirsten Paultre Brockport

Trinity Sawyer UW-Oshkosh

Faith Mylin UW-Whitewater

Natalie Galioto Brockport

Olivia Keyes Rhode Island College


Emily North UW-Whitewater

Olivia Keyes Rhode Island College

Skye Cohen Ithaca

Kaitlyn West Winona

Alyssa DeLorme Ursinus

Kelsey Gates Rhode Island College

Bryce Stoltz Winona

Brooke Merila Gustavus