Support Us
National Collegiate Gymnastics Association

Wisconsin-Whitewater Earns WIAC Women’s Gymnastics Championship


Winona, Minn. – March 18, 2017 – University of Wisconsin-Whitewater captured the 2017 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women’s Gymnastics Championship/National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) West Regional (presented by Culver’s) at Winona State’s McCown Gymnasium on March 17.

The Warhawks won the fifth conference title in program history, all within the last eight seasons, with a score of 191.850. Defending champion UW-La Crosse placed second with a score of 189.700, while UW-Stout was third with 188.750, Winona State University (Minn.) fourth with 186.750, UW-Eau Claire fifth with 186.525, UW-Oshkosh sixth with 185.900, Gustavus Adolphus College (Minn.) seventh with 185.625 and Hamline University (Minn.) eighth with 183.775.

The conference title also served as the West Region qualifier for the NCGA Championship that will be hosted by UW-Stout March 31-April 1. UW-Whitewater, UW-La Crosse and UW-Stout earned spots into the national event by placing in the top three.

The Warhawks claimed three individual titles as Lisa O’Donnell was victorious in the vault and all-around with scores of 9.700 and 38.525, respectively. She is the third Warhawk in the last four years to win the all-around and second vault champion from the program in the last three seasons.

UW-Whitewater also received a first-place finish from Courtney Pickett in the floor exercise with a score of 9.825. Her mark matched a conference meet record that had been accomplished by three other individuals.

UW-La Crosse’s Abby Ostrovsky secured the uneven bars title with a score of 9.725. The Eagles have had a gymnast win the event three times in the last four years.

UW-Oshkosh’s Baylee Tkaczuk had a first-place score of 9.675 in the balance beam to become the first Titan to claim the title since 2013.

The top-six individuals in each event secured All-Conference recognition. UW-Whitewater’s Katie Fiorilli received the Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award, which is sponsored by Badgerland Financial.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. It included one member from each school. Named to the squad were: UW-Eau Claire’s Maly Krajco; Gustavus Adolphus College’s Jamie Niedermayer; Hamline University’s Lauren Faust; UW-La Crosse’s Gabby Aguilar; UW-Oshkosh’s Dana LoCascio; UW-Stout’s Sierra Beaver; UW-Whitewater’s Courtney Pickett; and Winona State University’s Alyssa Carroll.
Release courtesy of the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC)