Support Us
National Collegiate Gymnastics Association

UW-Oshkosh Wins Women’s Gymnastics Championship

EAU CLAIRE, Wis.–University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh won the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Women’s Gymnastics Championship/National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) West Regional (presented by Culver’s) at UW-Eau Claire’s McPhee Center on March 7.

The Titans secured the 15th league title in program archives – and first since 1996 – with a score of 189.675. UW-Whitewater finished second with 189.425, UW-La Crosse third with 189.350, defending champion UW-Stout fourth with 186.925, Hamline University (Minn.) fifth with 184.925, Winona State University (Minn.) sixth with 182.100, UW-Eau Claire seventh with 177.075 and Gustavus Adolphus College (Minn.) eighth with 175.925.

The conference championship also served at the West Region qualifier for the NCGA Championship that will be hosted by Ithaca College (N.Y.) on March 28. UW-Oshkosh, UW-Whitewater and UW-La Crosse earned spots into the national event by placing in the top three.

UW-Oshkosh received a first-place finish in the vault from Emily Gilot, who posted a score of 9.725. It is the first title for the Titans in the event since the 2003 championship.

UW-La Crosse had a pair of individual champions as Kerrie Legault claimed the uneven bars with a score of 9.700 and Kacey Mortenson was victorious in the balance beam with a score of 9.750.

UW-Whitewater’s Karina Sabol won the floor exercise with a score of 9.700 and Blaise Wilson claimed the all-around title with a score of 38.175.

The top-six individuals in each event secured All-Conference recognition. UW-Oshkosh’s Baylee Tkaczuk received the Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete Award.

An All-Sportsmanship Team was chosen for individuals that displayed exemplary sportsmanship throughout the season. It included one member from each school. Named to the squad were: UW-Eau Claire’s Sydney Dame; Gustavus Adolphus College’s Kaytlyn Brenneman; Hamline University’s Nikki Johnsen; UW-La Crosse’s Ally Brugler; UW-Oshkosh’s Baylee Tkaczuk; UW-Stout’s Cassie Ehmann; UW-Whitewater’s Lauren Marshall; and Winona State University’s Kennedy Utz.