Support Us
National Collegiate Gymnastics Association

UW-Oshkosh Captures Second Straight NCGA Championship; Three Claim Individual Titles

WINONA, Minn.–University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh captured its second straight National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) Championship at McGown Gymnasium on March 25. In addition, three Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) individuals won event titles.

The NCGA title is the fourth in program history – and sixth overall – as the Titans also claimed the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women championship in 1980 and recorded a first-place finish at the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics championship in 1986. WIAC programs have combined for 26 first-place team finishes at NCGA championships with UW-La Crosse claiming 17 and UW-Whitewater five.

UW-Oshkosh won this year’s title with a score of 192.525, while UW-La Crosse was second with 192.325, UW-Stout third with 190.275, Springfield College (Mass.) fourth with 190.100, State University of New York Brockport fifth with 189.225 and Ithaca College (N.Y.) sixth with 187.925. That national meet was hosted by Winona State University (Minn.).

UW-Eau Claire’s Tia Ravara claimed the all-around crown with a score of 38.100. She is the fifth individual champion in program history and first since 2012.

UW-Whitewater’s Kara Welsh was victorious in the vault with a score of 9.825. She is the fifth Warhawk to claim a national title in the vault.

UW-La Crosse’s Rachel Chesley claimed the uneven parallel bars with a score of 9.800. She is the 12th individual in program archives to win a national crown in the event.

In addition, UW-La Crosse’s Kasey Crawford was tabbed the NCGA Coach of the Year. 

The top-eight finishers in each event were named NCGA All-America First Team. Following is a complete list of WIAC All-Americans:

Vault:  Kara Welsh (UW-Whitewater-Champion); Rachel Chesley (UW-La Crosse-Second); Reanna McGibboney (UW-Oshkosh-Fifth); Lilly Millington (UW-La Crosse-Eighth); Mia Lucero (UW-Oshkosh-Eighth)

Uneven Parallel Bars:  Rachel Chesley (UW-La Crosse-Champion); Madi Vanderpool (UW-La Crosse-Fourth); Kiara Brown (UW-Stout-Fourth); Richella Velarmino (UW-Whitewater-Sixth); Kerrie Legault (UW-La Crosse-Seventh); Trinity Sawyer (UW-Oshkosh-Seventh)

Balance Beam:  Sarah Knetzke (UW-Whitewater-Second); Kyla Dickson (UW-La Crosse-Third); Lydia Hayden (UW-Oshkosh-Third); Isabela Krulich (UW-Stout-Third); Madi Vanderpool (UW-La Crosse-Sixth); Ashtyn Gagner (UW-Stout-Sixth)

Floor Exercise:  Reanna McGibboney (UW-Oshkosh-Third); Kelsey Kollhoff (UW-Whitewater-Third); Rachel Chesley (UW-La Crosse-Sixth); Danielle Jaworski (Hamline-Sixth)

All-Around:  Tia Ravara (UW-Eau Claire-Champion); Kiara Brown (UW-Stout-Second); Emily Buffington (UW-Oshkosh-Fourth); Harriet Toth (UW-Eau Claire-Sixth); Breanna Ho (Winona State-Seventh).