Support Us
National Collegiate Gymnastics Association

UW-La Crosse’s Barmore Named WIAC Judy Kruckman Scholar-Athlete

Madison, Wis. – March 13, 2019 – University of Wisconsin-La Crosse senior Dani Barmore has been selected the recipient of the 2018-19 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Judy Kruckman Women’s Gymnastics Scholar-Athlete Award, the league office announced Monday.

Barmore boasts a 3.94 grade point average and is majoring in physics with a bio-med concentration and a minor in mathematics. She was named a National Collegiate Gymnastics Association (NCGA) All-America Scholar Athlete for both the 2016-17 and 2017-18 seasons and is a three-time member of the WIAC Scholastic Honor Roll. Barmore has appeared on UW-La Crosse’s Dean’s List numerous semesters and received academic scholarships.    

A two-year team captain, Barmore helped UW-La Crosse win the NCGA championship in 2016 when she claimed a national title in the uneven bars. A year ago, she post a first-place finish in the vault at the NCGA championship. Barmore helped UW-La Crosse win WIAC championships in 2016 and 2018. She was selected UW-La Crosse’s Newcomer of the Year in 2016 and Most Inspirational in 2017, and holds the school record in the all-around with a score of 38.800.     

Dani Barmore

Barmore is a member of UW-La Crosse’s Golden Key International Honor Society. She has participated in a number of campus and community organizations and activities including: Gundersen Medical Foundation Steppin’ Out In Pink Walk; Kids’ Night Out; and Veteran’s Day Breakfast. She has also been a Jr. Eagles Gymnastics Coach since 2015.

She is the 18th student-athlete in school history to earn the WIAC Gymnastics Scholar-Athlete Award, including the second straight. Amy Enright earned the honor in 2017-18.

Also nominated for this year’s scholar-athlete award were:  UW-Eau Claire’s Hannah Lewis (Sr., Saline, Mich.); Gustavus Adolphus College’s Jamie Erdely (Sr., Phoenix, Ariz./Xavier College Preparatory); Hamline University’s Kelsey Rannekler (Sr., Naperville, Ill./Neuqua Valley); UW-Stout’s Chelsea Gray (Sr., Fitchburg, Wis./Madison West); and UW-Whitewater’s Bailey Fitzpatrick (Sr., Burlington, Wis.).

The WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award is named after Judy Kruckman who served as Assistant Commissioner for the WIAC from 1996-98. Prior to this appointment, she was Commissioner of the Wisconsin Women’s Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WWIAC) from October 1984 – September 1996. Kruckman was the women’s athletics director at UW-Eau Claire from 1974-84, and one of the original representatives to the WWIAC when it formed in 1971. She was inducted into the WIAC Hall of Fame in 2012.

In order to be nominated for the scholar-athlete award, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.50 grade point average. In addition, she must be in her last year of competition, or on schedule to graduate this academic year, and have competed for a minimum of two years.

Press release courtesy of UW-La Crosse athletics.